Portfolio Thinking

Based upon the readings I understand “portfolio thinking” to mean keeping the user in mind. When creating portfolios, it’s best to keep the reader in mind so when they’re looking over it, it’s easy on the eyes. Elizabeth Sharp brings up the point in her article by stating “I am continually researching how to best present a portfolio with the user in mind, the person who will view my portfolio” (Sharp 2018). When creating portfolios you want the information to be to the point. As this is my second semester in the program I’ve gotten a little bit of use with e-portfolios. I’ve learned that they are very useful to promote yourself and your work. I like to use portfolios to showcase my work through the course. I could use portfolios beyond this course by submitting them with resumes to show potential employers what I can do, and what i’m capable of.

One thought on “Portfolio Thinking

  1. Allyson,

    I agree that portfolio thinking keeps the user in mind versus the reader in mind. Additionally, I think that an important concept for portfolio thinking is that it allows the user to showcase themselves and their content the way that they would like to. It is a way that users can individualize their work and make it what they want it to be. I agree that outside of this program we can use portfolios to professionally showcase our accomplishments to future employers! Great job!

    Courtney Cottingham

    Like

Leave a comment